Skip to contents

Early Voting Begins Monday For Chicago. Here’s Where You Can Go In Each Ward

Here's how and where you can vote in person before Election Day.

A Chicagoan casts their vote at Beethoven Elementary School in Bronzeville during the Primary Election on June 28, 2022.
Colin Boyle/Block Club Chicago

CHICAGO — Early voting has begun in Chicago for the Nov. 8 election.

Voters will decide the state’s governor, attorney general and judges, among other picks on the ballot.

Here’s how you can vote in person before Election Day.

Early Voting: Ward Sites

Early voting sites are open 9 a.m.-6 p.m. weekdays, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Saturdays and 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Sundays. Any Chicagoan can vote at any of these sites during the early voting period, regardless of where they live.

Early voting is available through Nov. 7. These sites also will be open 6 a.m.-7 p.m. on Election Day.

The sites:

1st Ward: Goldblatts Building, 1615 W. Chicago Ave.

2nd Ward: Near North Branch Library, 310 W. Division St.

3rd Ward: Dawson Technical Institute, 3901 S. State St.

4th Ward: Dr. Martin Luther King Center, 4314 S. Cottage Grove Ave.

5th Ward: South Side YMCA, 6330 S. Stony Island Ave.

6th Ward: Whitney Young Library, 415 E. 79 St.

7th Ward: Trumbull Park, 2400 E. 105th St.

8th Ward: Olive Harvey College, 10001 S. Woodlawn Ave.

9th Ward: Palmer Park, 201 E. 111th St.

10th Ward: East Side Vodak Library, 3710 E. 106th St.

11th Ward: McGuane Park, 2901 S. Poplar Ave.

12th Ward: McKinley Park Branch Library, 1915 W. 35th St.

13th Ward: Clearing Library, 6423 W. 63rd Place

14th Ward: Archer Heights Branch Library, 5055 S. Archer Ave.

15th Ward: Gage Park, 2411 W. 55th St.

16th Ward: Lindblom Park, 6054 S. Damen Ave.

17th Ward: Thurgood Marshall Library, 7506 S. Racine Ave.

18th Ward: Wrightwood Ashburn Branch Library, 8530 S. Kedzie Ave.

19th Ward: Mt Greenwood Park, 3721 W. 111th St.

20th Ward: Bessie Coleman Library, 731 E. 63rd St.

21st Ward: West Pullman Library, 830 W. 119th St.

22nd Ward: Toman Library, 2708 S. Pulaski Road

23rd Ward: Ward Hall-St. Faustina Kowalska Parish, 5157 S. McVicker Ave.

24th Ward: St Agatha Catholic Parish, 3151 W. Douglas Blvd.

25th Ward: Rudy Lozano Branch Library, 1805 S. Loomis St.

26th Ward: Humboldt Park Library, 1605 N. Troy St.

27th Ward: Union Park Field House, 1501 W. Randolph St.

28th Ward: West Side Learning Center, 4624 W. Madison St.

29th Ward: Amundsen Park, 6200 W. Bloomingdale Ave.

30th Ward: Kilbourn Park, 3501 N. Kilbourn Ave.

31st Ward: Portage Cragin Library, 5108 W. Belmont Ave.

32nd Ward: Bucktown-Wicker Park Library, 1701 N. Milwaukee Ave.

33rd Ward: American Indian Center, 3401 W. Ainslie St.

34th Ward: UIC Student Center, 750 S. Halsted St.

35th Ward: Northeastern Il University El Centro, 3390 N. Avondale Ave.

36th Ward: West Belmont Library, 3104 N. Narragansett Ave.

37th Ward: West Chicago Library, 4856 W. Chicago Ave.

38th Ward: Hiawatha Park, 8029 W. Forest Preserve Drive

39th Ward: North Park Village Admin Bldg, 5801 N. Pulaski Road

40th Ward: Budlong Woods Library, 5630 N. Lincoln Ave.

41st Ward: Roden Library, 6083 N. Northwest Highway

42nd Ward: Maggie Daley Park, 337 E. Randolph St.

43rd Ward: Lincoln Park Branch Library, 1150 W. Fullerton Ave.

44th Ward: Merlo Library, 644 W. Belmont Ave.

45th Ward: Ho Chunk Nation, 4732 N. Milwaukee Ave.

46th Ward: Truman College, 1145 W. Wilson Ave.

47th Ward: Conrad Sulzer Library, 4455 N. Lincoln Ave.

48th Ward: Broadway Armory, 5917 N. Broadway

49th Ward: Willye B White Park, 1610 W. Howard St.

50th Ward: Northtown Library, 6800 N. Western Ave.

Early Voting: Downtown Sites

Two Downtown sites are open 9 a.m.-6 p.m. weekdays, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Saturdays and 10 a.m.-4 p.m. through Oct. 30. After that, they will be open 9 a.m.-7 p.m. weekdays, 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Saturdays and 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Sundays through Nov. 7.

The sites:

Chicago Board of Elections Supersite: 191 N. Clark St.

Chicago Board of Elections office: 69 W. Washington St., sixth floor

Early Voting: University Sites

University are open for early voting 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Nov. 2-4.

The sites:

Chicago State University: 9501 S. King Drive

Northeastern University: 5500 N. St. Louis Ave.

University of Chicago, Reynolds Club: 1131 E. 57th St.

RELATED: Voting In Chicago 2022: Everything You Need To Know For Election Day Nov. 8

Find Your Ward

You can vote at any early voting site during early voting. But if you want to find your ward, go here.

Do You Need An ID?

• An ID is not required to vote in most cases, but you will need to show one form of ID if an election judge challenges your right to vote. Here’s a list of acceptable forms of ID.

• You’ll also need two forms of ID if you’re registering to vote on Election Day or during early voting.

What You’re Voting On

A variety of federal, state and local races will appear on the ballot for the Nov. 8 election. Some voters will also be asked their opinion for referenda questions.

Click here to see your sample ballot.

Here’s a full list of offices that will appear on the ballot.

A partial list of offices on the ballot:

  • U.S. senator
    • Tammy Duckworth
    • Kathy Salvi
    • Bill Redpath
  • Illinois governor and lieutenant governor
    • JB Pritzker and Juliana Stratton
    • Darren Bailey and Stephanie Trussell
    • Scott Schluter and John Phillips
  • Illinois attorney general
    • Kwame Raoul
    • Thomas G. DeVore
    • Daniel K. Robin
  • Illinois secretary of state
    • Alexi Giannoulias
    • Dan Brady
    • Jon Stewart
  • Illinois comptroller
    • Susana Mendoza
    • Shannon Teresi
    • Deirdre McCloskey
  • Illinois treasurer
    • Michael Frerichs
    • Tom Demmer
    • Preston Nelson
  • Congressional representatives
  • State senators
  • General Assembly representatives
  • President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners
    • Toni Preckwinkle
    • Bob Fioretti
    • Thea Tsatsos
  • Cook County clerk
    • Karen Yarbrough
    • Tony Peraica
    • Joseph Schreiner
  • Cook County sheriff
    • Thomas Dart
    • Lupe Aguirre
    • Brad Sandefur
  • Cook County treasurer
    • Maria Pappas
    • Peter Kopsaftis
    • Michael Murphy
  • Cook County assessor
    • Fritz Kaegi
    • Nico Tsatsoulis
  • Various judges

Voting On Judges

Go to Injustice Watch’s nonpartisan guide to the judicial primary elections for information about judicial candidates.

Subscribe to Block Club Chicago, an independent, 501(c)(3), journalist-run newsroom. Every dime we make funds reporting from Chicago’s neighborhoods.

Click here to support Block Club with a tax-deductible donation. 

Thanks for subscribing to Block Club Chicago, an independent, 501(c)(3), journalist-run newsroom. Every dime we make funds reporting from Chicago’s neighborhoods. Click here to support Block Club with a tax-deductible donation.

Listen to “It’s All Good: A Block Club Chicago Podcast”: