Skip to contents

5 States Added To Chicago’s Travel Quarantine List

Colorado, Ohio, Delaware, West Virginia and Texas were added to the list Tuesday.

Kevin Moore wears a mask in the Lakeview neighborhood on Friday, May 29, 2020.
Colin Boyle/Block Club Chicago
  • Credibility:

CHICAGO — Five more states have been added to Chicago’s Emergency Travel Order.

Colorado, Ohio, Delaware, West Virginia and Texas were added to the list Tuesday. Travelers coming from places on the list to Chicago must quarantine for 14 days upon arriving in the city to lower the risk of spreading coronavirus.

The latest update goes into effect Friday.

There are now 31 states and territories on the list. States and territories are added to it when they are having a surge of COVID-19 cases, as is happening across most of the United States.

Only people who spent a day or longer in high-risk states on the city’s list need to quarantine once they get to Chicago. People who have had layovers in those states do not need to quarantine.

Those who are affected by the order have to stay in a single dwelling for 14 days before doing any activities outside.

People found violating the quarantine order could be fined between $100 to $500 per day, up to $7,000.

The current list:

• Alabama
• Alaska
• Arkansas
• Colorado
• Delaware
• Idaho
• Iowa
• Indiana
• Kansas
• Kentucky
• Minnesota
• Mississippi
• Missouri
• Montana
• Nebraska
• Nevada
• New Mexico
• North Carolina
• North Dakota
• Ohio
• Oklahoma
• Puerto Rico
• Rhode Island
• South Carolina
• South Dakota
• Tennessee
• Texas
• Utah
• West Virginia
• Wisconsin
• Wyoming

Block Club Chicago’s coronavirus coverage is free for all readers. Block Club is an independent, 501(c)(3), journalist-run newsroom.

Subscribe to Block Club Chicago. Every dime we make funds reporting from Chicago’s neighborhoods.

Already subscribe? Click here to support Block Club with a tax-deductible donation.