Skip to contents

Florida Added To Chicago’s Travel Quarantine List

Michigan could be added to Chicago's quarantine list next week.

Katherine Johnson/Flickr
  • Credibility:

CHICAGO — Florida has been added to Chicago’s Emergency Travel Order — and Michigan is on the warning list.

Florida was added to the list Tuesday, and Michigan could be added next week, according to city officials. Travelers coming to Chicago from places on the list must quarantine for 14 days upon arriving in the city to lower the risk of spreading coronavirus.

The latest update goes into effect Friday.

Only people who spent a day or longer in high-risk states on the city’s list need to quarantine once they get to Chicago. People who have had layovers in those states do not need to quarantine.

Those affected by the order have to stay in a single dwelling for 14 days before doing any activities outside.

People found violating the quarantine order could be fined between $100 to $500 per day, up to $7,000.

There are now 32 states and territories on the list. States and territories are added to the emergency order when they are having a surge of COVID-19 cases, as is happening across most of the United States.

The current list:

• Alabama
• Alaska
• Arkansas
• Colorado
• Delaware
• Florida
• Idaho
• Iowa
• Indiana
• Kansas
• Kentucky
• Minnesota
• Mississippi
• Missouri
• Montana
• Nebraska
• Nevada
• New Mexico
• North Carolina
• North Dakota
• Ohio
• Oklahoma
• Puerto Rico
• Rhode Island
• South Carolina
• South Dakota
• Tennessee
• Texas
• Utah
• West Virginia
• Wisconsin
• Wyoming

Block Club Chicago’s coronavirus coverage is free for all readers. Block Club is an independent, 501(c)(3), journalist-run newsroom.

Subscribe to Block Club Chicago. Every dime we make funds reporting from Chicago’s neighborhoods.

Already subscribe? Click here to support Block Club with a tax-deductible donation.