People at the O'Hare International Airport in February 2020. Credit: Colin Boyle/Block Club Chicago

CHICAGO — Utah has been added to Chicago’s Emergency Travel Order list.

Travelers coming from places on the list to Chicago must quarantine for 14 days upon arriving in the city. The latest update — which adds Utah to the list and removes Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, North Carolina and Texas —goes into effect Friday.

There are 16 states on the list.

The Emergency Travel Order, put through in early July, orders people coming from a state where coronavirus is surging to self-isolate if they come to Chicago.

Only people who spent a day or longer in high-risk states on the city’s list need to quarantine once they get to Chicago. People who have had layovers in those states do not need to quarantine.

Those who are affected by the order have to stay in a single dwelling for 14 days before doing any activities outside.

People found violating the quarantine order could be fined between $100 to $500 per day, up to $7,000.

The current list:

• Alabama
• Arkansas
• Georgia
• Iowa
• Kansas
• Kentucky
• Louisiana
• Mississippi
• Missouri
• Nebraska
• North Dakota
• Oklahoma
• South Carolina
• South Dakota
• Tennessee
• Utah

Block Club Chicago’s coronavirus coverage is free for all readers. Block Club is an independent, 501(c)(3), journalist-run newsroom.

Subscribe to Block Club Chicago. Every dime we make funds reporting from Chicago’s neighborhoods.

Already subscribe? Click here to support Block Club with a tax-deductible donation. Twitter @BauerJournalism