Skip to contents

Here’s Every Movie Playing in Wicker Park, Bucktown And West Town Parks This Summer

Wicker Park residents gather for a movie in the park.
Elaine Coorens/Our Urban Times

WEST TOWN —  Dig out the blanket and picnic basket, Chicago Park District’s longrunning Movies in the Parks brings more than 250 movies to outdoor screens around the city.

In Wicker Park, Bucktown and West Town, there are 11 movies scheduled for screenings at 6 local parks, listed below.

All movies, which featuring closed captioning, begin at dusk. Sundown is roughly 8:30 p.m. from June-July 15, 8:15 p.m. from July 15-August 15 and 8 p.m. after August 15.

BUCKTOWN:

Holstein Park2200 N. Oakley Ave.

Friday, July 6: “ Love Songs (Les Chansons d’Amour)” — NR

Churchill Field Playlot Park1825 N. Damen Ave.

Sunday, June 17: “Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle” — PG-13

Sunday, July 29: “Wonder Woman” — PG-13

Saturday, August 18: “Roman Holiday” (a 1953 romantic comedy starring Audrey Hepburn as a European princess and Gregory Peck as an American reporter) — NR

Walsh Playground Park, 1722 N. Ashland Ave.

Sunday, August 12: “The Secret Life of Pets” — PG

WICKER PARK

Wicker Park, 1425 N. Damen Ave.

As previously reported, and thanks to underwriter The Wormhole Coffee, all of the movies in Wicker Park’s namesake park this summer star actress Whoopi Goldberg.

Thursday, June 14: “The Color Purple” — PG-13

Thursday, July 5: “Ghost” — PG-13

Thursday, July 19: “Sister Act” — PG

Thursday, Aug. 9: “The Associate” — PG-13

Whoopi Goldberg in “Sister Act” [Youtube]

Noble Square:

Pulaski Park, 1419 W. Blackhawk St.

Saturday, June 16: “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2” — PG-13

WEST TOWN:

Eckhart Park, 1330 W. Chicago Ave.

July 1: “Grease” — PG-13

View the full movie lineup list at all city parks.